I volunteer alongside my full-time job

Gifts for the World board

One way of communicating CAFOD 

Selina Parker volunteers in Northampton and she explains how you can speak up for CAFOD without even leaving home. She is one of our communications volunteers and I spoke to her about her volunteering journey and why, being a volunteer can mean so many different things.

I volunteer alongside my full-time job

I have only been volunteering with CAFOD a few months but I am looking forward to working with CAFOD for many years to come. I responded to a plea in my church’s newsletter for social media help!

As I also work full time, I thought that this would be a form of volunteering that I could dedicate plenty of time to (I can be working whilst on the move!)

Find out more about volunteering 

happy girls with water

The recent Lent appeal helped thousands of people access clean water

I am currently the Media Volunteer for the diocese; I cover the whole of the CAFOD Northampton diocese which covers Northamptonshire, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, Luton, Slough, Milton Keynes.

My work is mainly done from my computer (or by phone or tablet when I’m on the move!) – keeping all our followers updated via our Facebook page, twitter account and website blogs, on all the exciting events we have happening.

I also try and get along to some of these events myself though where I can, as I really enjoy getting out and meeting our other volunteers and supporters!

The elation of finishing!

Nora on finishing her Marathon

Helping people to reach their fundraising targets is really inspiring

My highlight so far has been following the amazing effort by our very own volunteer Nora in running the Hamburg marathon for CAFOD in April and helping her beat her fundraising target.

It was also great to be able to follow the progress of all our CAFOD runners nationwide at the London marathon this year via Twitter – a superb effort from all the runners who made up the 1 million who have now taken part in this fantastic fundraising event!

There are many different opportunities to volunteer with CAFOD in lots of different roles; to find a list of our volunteer roles or apply to be a volunteer.

 

Leave a Reply

