Chesham Marathon runner raises over £1,200 to help provide clean water all over the world.

The elation of finishing!

The elation of finishing!

Nora Maw, 59, from St. Columba’s in Chesham has completed the Hamburg Marathon and raised over £1,200 for CAFOD’s Lent Appeal which will help people in some of the world’s poorest communities with access to clean water.

On 17 April, Nora ran the marathon alongside her husband, she had an amazing time, finished the marathon in 5hours, 33mins and is already planning her next run.

Learn about how you can fundraise for CAFOD 

On the run...

Well on the way to finishing 

Nora said:

“The euphoria hasn’t worn off yet and I have to pinch myself sometimes to make myself believe that it was real! It was a great experience and I wouldn’t have missed it for the world – honestly. The organisation of the whole event was impeccable and the support around the whole course was wonderful with crowds everywhere and lots of drum bands and music at various points on the route.

“I set off at an easy pace because apart from having the goal of finishing the distance, I had no intention of walking any of it and the weather was perfect for running.

“One of the encouraging things was having our names printed on our bib numbers because a lot of the supporters were cheering and calling out my name which helped me keep going. When I was getting tired I thought of all my sponsors and you all at CAFOD and the money I was raising – a great incentive!

Downlaoad our A-Z guide of fundraising ideas

rt20x30-HHAB3894

Nearing the end of the run

“When I reached the home strait and I realised I was going to achieve the goal I had spent nearly 4 months training for, elation started to overcome me and when I saw Richard, my husband, waiting for me I would have cried with emotion, but once I had stopped running I didn’t even have the energy to cry!

“The exhaustion and aching limbs I felt immediately after I stopped running haven’t been forgotten completely yet, but it is fading and believe it or not, we’re even discussing when we might do our next marathon!”

Generous supporters from across England and Wales have donated over £4.6 million for the Lent appeal, of which £3.5 million will be matched by the UK Government’s Department for International Development.

CAFOD’s representative in Buckinghamshire, Deborah Purfield said:

“We’re so grateful to Nora for completing the Marathon in aid of CAFOD and to everyone in Buckinghamshire and the surrounding areas who have raised money for our Lent appeal. The UK matched funding alone will provide over 300,000 people with access to clean water in Uganda, Zimbabwe and the Democratic Republic of Congo.”

Find out how you can help by learning more about our latest campaign

Leave a Reply

