Meet Rob, our new Media Volunteer!

robert_gibson_9219Hi! I’m Rob and I’ve recently started as the new media volunteer for CAFOD in our Diocese of Northampton. I’m a journalist by trade, having worked on a freelance basis for national newspapers including the Sunday Times and The Mirror, and as a senior journalist at MK News in Milton Keynes. My time in Milton Keynes should stand me in good stead for helping to promote our members, churches and schools in the area. I’m now plying my trade as Editor for the Chartered Quality Institute, a London-based charity that promotes the benefits of quality management for all organisations around the world.

I also have a young family so I’m relying on caffeine and laughter to get me through the early years of sleepless nights and nappy changing! I moved to the diocese about a year ago, when I brought my family from Welwyn Garden City to Biggleswade. On Sundays, you will find me at mass at St Peter’s, or at my family’s church, St Bonaventure’s in WGC.

I’m really excited about my work for CAFOD and helping to promote the hard work of our supporters in the diocese. I’ve already met some inspirational people, including our manager for the diocese, Deborah Purfield, whose enthusiasm and determination is highly contagious!

It’s quickly become apparent that this is an exciting – and, indeed, critical – moment for CAFOD, with so many important events happening such as the launch of the new climate campaign taking place this year. I’m looking for people and stories in our area to create interesting articles and photos that will support CAFOD’s work and help to change lives. Please do get in touch if you have any ideas, if you’re planning a fundraising event, supporting a campaign, or would like to feature in an article.  Why not even try your hand at a blog post! I am happy to support and assist if needed.

Please contact me at robertjcgibson@gmail.com so that we can spread the word about the wonderful work being done in our diocese, making a difference to the lives of our sisters and brothers across the world!

One thought on “Meet Rob, our new Media Volunteer!

Leave a Reply

